FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – December 4, 2021 – Reston Citizens Association is strongly encouraging Reston community-wide participation in the survey being conducted by Fairfax County to evaluate its Site-Specific Plan Amendment (SSPA) process  and the way land use changes for individual properties or sites are proposed and reviewed. Reston will be included in the North County SSPA process which is expected to start in the spring of 2022.
Reston has a rich history of public participation in the SSPA process. A survey has been launched by the County to gather community and stakeholder feedback that the Planning Commission and Board of Supervisors will utilize as they review the current process and identify appropriate changes.  

The SSPA process was established in 2017 and operates on a four-year cycle that gives the public the opportunity to submit and review proposed land use changes for individual sites. The community survey for the SSPA process focuses on three themes – inclusion and community engagement, timeline, and nomination criteria – and gives the public the opportunity to submit comments.

A video overview of the SSPA process can be viewed on the County’s Youtube channel.

The public is encouraged to take the community survey now through midnight on Friday, December 10, 2021. The survey is available in multiple languages, including SpanishKoreanFarsiVietnamese, and Chinese, and many other languages. Survey findings will be used along with a staff analysis to help inform discussions with the Planning Commission and Board of Supervisors on potential process changes. Changes, if any, are expected by mid-2022.

To take the community survey, please visit: Email updates on the evaluation of the SSPA process will be delivered through the Comprehensive Plan Announcements listserv.

For more information about the current SSPA process, please visit the SSPA website, which includes resources and information on the purpose of the process, how it works, and how to get involved in current plan amendments.

Media Contact:

Lynne Mulston, President